These are the winners of the 2022 Music Moves Europe Awards


The prestigious Grand Jury Prize was awarded to Meskerem Mees (Belgium) and the Public Choice award was won by Ladaniva (Armenia). Denise Chaila (Ireland), ДEVA (Hungary), Mezerg (France), Blanks (Netherlands), and Alina Pash (Ukraine) are the five winners of the Music Moves Europe Awards 2022.

This annual prize for popular and contemporary music co-funded by the European Union celebrates emerging artists who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow. Previous winners of the Music Moves Europe Awards include Rosalía, Meduza, Bishop Briggs, Aya Nakamura, girl in red and Pale Waves.

Quotes from the jury

Winners of the Music Moves Europe Awards were selected by an expert jury consisting of Gemma Bradley (BBC Radio 1), Cindy Castillo (Mad Cool Festival), Kevin Cole (KEXP), Bryan Johnson (Spotify), and honorary jury member Alyona Alyona (Public Choice Winner 2021).

About the nominees: “It was amazing to discover so many talented European artists. It made our task very rewarding but also challenging. Although all nominees surprised us with the excellent musical diversity and artistry.”

About Meskerem Mees: “We were unanimous in choosing the winner of the Grand Jury Music Moves Europe Award 2022. Authentic, Mystical and timeless with a beautiful voice. Meskerem Mees stands out, with her soulful songs and impeccable performance. She just has it!”

About Alina Pash: “Really exciting and unique artist. I can really tell what she stands for straight away.”

About Blanks: “Super catchy sophisticated synth pop with echoes of the 80s. Not just in the artistry and recording, but in the songwriting too.”

About Denise Chaila: “Smart lyrics, a real passion and strength when performing. One of the most exciting artists on this year“

About Дeva: “Loved the atmospheric feel she brings to her tracks, and has a really ethereal voice.”

About Mezerg: “He is doing something crazy! Good show, good music, good at all!”

Prize Package

The Music Moves Europe Award winners receive € 10.000,- each. The winner of the Grand Jury Award wins an additional green touring voucher worth € 5.000. The winner of the Public Choice Award receives € 5.000. Each nominee is also offered the opportunity to attend a training day at ESNS to further their skills in internationalising their careers, representing a value of € 1.250 per artist. The Business Education Training day includes keynotes, expert meetings and training sessions.


The Music Moves Europe Awards are the The European Union Prize for popular and contemporary music. The aim of the awards is to celebrate upcoming European artists and support them in developing their international careers. This year’s nominees are Alina Pash (Ukraine), Anna (Italy), Balkan Taksim (Romania), Blanks (The Netherlands), Denise Chaila (Ireland), Дeva (Hungary), DORA (Spain), Francis of Delirium (Luxembourg), Friedberg (Austria), Jada (Denmark), Ladaniva (Armenia), Meskerem Mees (Belgium), Mezerg (France), Nenny (Portugal) and Zoe Wees (Germany).

The awards succeed the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) and the Music Moves Europe Talent Award (MMETA), supported and handed out by the European Union since 2004. The Prize has an impeccable track record, awarding artists including Stromae, Adele, Mumford & Sons, Dua Lipa, Rosalía, Meduza, Lous and the Yakuza, Inhaler and last year’s winner Alyona Alyona. Each of these artists have since reached new levels of fame and success in the global music industry.