ESNS adds 52 artists to programme, completing 2023 line-up


ESNS (Eurosonic Noorderslag), the key exchange for emerging European music talent, adds another 52 artists to its programme, including Blanks (nl), Brimheim (dk), Caleb Kunle (ie) Daria Kolomiec (ua), Katie Gregson-Macleod (uk-sco), and Merol (nl), completing its line-up for ESNS 2023. Among these names are eleven Hit the North acts and five acts highlighted by NPO Radio 2 Soul & Jazz.

ESNS will take place from 18 to 21 January 2023 in Groningen, the Netherlands. The festival has proven essential in breaking new European acts into live music scenes throughout Europe and beyond. With a line-up of 290 emerging European artists, ESNS23 is the place to discover new breakthrough acts before they make it big. You heard it first at ESNS!

Photo: Katie Gregson-Macleod (UK-Sco)

33 acts added to the Eurosonic line-up:

Andrei Irimia (ro), Ash Olsen (no), averagekidluke (fi/YleX), Benwal (nl / Hit the North), Blanks (nl), Brimheim (fo/dk/DR/P6), Caleb Kunle (ie), Chagall (nl), Clara! (be), Cloudsurfers (nl), Daria Kolomiec (ua), Dylamic (nl / Hit the North), Eloi (fr), Fred Goverde (nl / Hit the North), Hannes (se), Heartworms (uk-eng), Historian (nl / Hit the North), Holly (pt), Johnny loves me (nl / Hit the North), Katie Gregson-Macleod (uk-sco), Merol (nl), Metteson (no), Moonloops (nl / Hit the North), renceau (nl / Hit the North), Seb Zukini (nl / Hit the North), Skaar (no), Steeby & the Better Days (nl / Hit the North), Stockdale (de), Toupaz (at), Traversus (nl / Hit the North), Verity (nl / Hit the North), Weval (nl), and Zohar (nl).

Hit the North 2023;

Hit the North is a unique collaboration between festivals and cultural institutions from the north of the Netherlands. Hit the North is established to stimulate professional talent development in the provinces Groningen, Friesland and Drenthe. Northern pop culture is unique, but artists often experience many difficulties that hold them back from breaking through. Eleven acts were part of this year’s Hit the North programme and will play at ESNS23 in January. These eleven acts are; Benwal, Dylamic, Fred Goverde, Historian, Johnny loves me, Moonloops, renceau, Seb Zukini, Steeby & the Better Days, Traversus, and Verity.

Nineteen acts added to Noorderslag line-up:

Amina, Brintex Collective, Bumble B. Boy, Cavolo Nero, Claude, De Toegift, Dopebwoy, Elijah Waters, Ginge, Ir Sais, Joost Van Bellen & St. Paul Present: Love Is All, Kleine John & Chavanté, Mariposa, Nobu, ParHasard, Peter Somuah Group, SIM—OJ, Wodan Boys, and Zoe Tauran

NPO Radio 2 Soul & Jazz stage at Noorderslag;

At Noorderslag, NPO Radio 2 Soul & Jazz will highlight their favourite upcoming artists of the Netherlands. This year the radio station will shine its spotlight on Brintex Collective, ParHasard, Peter Somuah Group, Ginge, and Cavolo Nero.

ESNS previously confirmed 239 artists for the showcase festival.

ESNS Conference

For the ESNS Conference, a number of new panels and speakers have been added. The sub-programme ESNS Tech will zoom in on the most notable developments in innovation and technology. Andrew Melchior (CTO of Massive Attack) will give a keynote on engaging audiences in the new era of deglobalisation and reduced emission lifestyles. Other panels in this sub-programme, moderated by Turo Pekari (Music Finland), explore Web 3.0 and its (business) applications such as the Metaverse. Other newly announced panels will dive deeper into touring in challenging economic times and the streaming economy.

Check out all announced panels and speakers here:

Find more information about the conference programme at

Conference Registrations are available via

ESNS23 tickets

Tickets for the festival are available here:

Get your registrations for the ESNS conference here:

ESNS23 playlist

To get familiar with the artists you will be able to discover in Groningen, a playlist has been created with all the confirmed acts for ESNS23. Listen here: